October 2015 APSF Newsletter, The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


Search for Next APSF President

Measuring Glucose with Point-of-Care Meters

The Neostigmine Shortage: A Clinical Conundrum with Few Drug Alternatives

Obstetric Anesthesia Patient Safety: Emergency Transport to OR

"Extreme" Remote Locations Raise Unique Safety Concerns

Anesthetic Drug Interactions with Parkinson’s Disease and Medications

Q&A: Medical Air Supply Causes Rapid Inflow of Water Into Flow Meters

Q&A: Problems with Automated Anesthesia Machine Checkout

Dear SIRS: Manufacturer Responds Regarding Defective Gas Sampling Line


ASA/APSF Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Patient Safety Memorial Lecture

Announcing the 2015 Recipient

RFA for Safety Scientist Career Development Award (SSCDA)

APSF Board of Directors Workshop:
From APSF Educational Videos to Your Practice: How to Make it Happen

APSF Educational DVDs

Letters to the Editor:

Chlorhexidine Can Cause Allergic Reaction

An Unintended Addition to a Vial of Naropin™ 0.2%

Development of Serotonin Syndrome with 5HT-3 Receptor Antagonist

Fluorescein Dye for Ureteral Identification

An Alternative Succinct Checklist Offered for PACU Handoff Communication

Vial Stoppers: The Hidden Latex Risk in the Perioperative Environment


Archives of Past Issues
Sponsorship Opportunities
Corporate Donors
2015 Board and Committees
APSF Newsletter Guide for Authors


—Featured Article—

Leading the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
(APSF) into the Future:
Seeking Candidates for the Next APSF President

Robert K. Stoelting, MD


Robert K. Stoelting, MD, has announced that he will retire as President of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) when his next term concludes on October 22, 2016. During his 19-year tenure as APSF President, Dr. Stoelting has been a vigorous and innovative leader, dedicated to the APSF mission that “no patient shall be harmed by anesthesia.”

Under Dr. Stoelting’s direction, APSF has advanced the scope and impact of anesthesia patient safety by engaging a broad range of safety stakeholders in clinical practice, teaching, research, industry, and regulatory affairs. These stakeholders work together to improve patient safety with activities and products including workshops, consensus conferences, surveys, newsletters, educational videos, advisory statements, training opportunities, and research initiatives. APSF provides a vital stimulus for patient safety innovation by funding research awards and providing fellowship grants. The APSF Newsletter, with a worldwide circulation that exceeds 118,000, keeps the anesthesia community attuned to emerging safety concerns and new preventive strategies... [more]

“Extreme” Remote Locations Raise Unique Safety Concerns


As medical technology advances, so does the complexity of the environment for anesthesia care. Many specialty care centers are utilizing hybrid combinations of MRI, radiation, and lasers in operating suites and other patient care areas. Some of these new treatment and diagnostic modalities pose hazards to the patient, anesthesia provider, and the safe delivery of an anesthetic. In this segment, we will attempt to describe the challenges met at the MD Anderson Cancer Center during the design, implementation, and utilization of new cutting-edge technologies. Since many of these facilities are located a significant distance from the main operating room suite, they are considered remote locations. However, what makes them “extreme” locations is the fact that the anesthesia provider is usually separated from the patient during treatment and that team members must understand specific safety and logistical nuances to provide a safe anesthetic for the patient....[more]



ASA/APSF Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Patient Safety Memorial Lecture

Expanding Our Influence:
How the Perioperative Surgical Home Will Improve
Patient Safety

Mark Warner, MD

Annual Meeting of the American Society of Anesthesiologists
Saturday, October 24, 2015, 10:45 am-11:45 am
Upper Ballroom 20D,
San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, CA

Speaker: Mark Warner, MD

APSF Board of Directors Workshop

From APSF Educational Videos to Your Practice:
How to Make it Happen

Saturday, October 24, 2015,....[more]



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published three times per year in Wilmington, Delaware. Individual subscription–$100, Cor­por­ate–$500. Contri­butions to the Foundation are tax deduct­ible. ©Copy­right, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2015.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Robert J. White, Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Steven K. Howard, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Lynne Reede, CRNA; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Maria A. van Pelt, CRNA; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Bruce P. Hallbert, PhD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Steven B. Greenberg, MD, Assistant Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Senior Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009

e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com

Send contributions to:
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
Or please donate online at www.apsf.org.