Grants and Awards


NEW: APSF/FAER Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG)

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) and The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) are now offering the joint APSF/FAER Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) to develop the next generation of perioperative patient safety scientists.

This two-year, $300,000 award aims to help anesthesiologists develop the skills and preliminary data they need to become independent investigators in the field of anesthesia patient safety.

See Application Instructions for eligibility and other details.

Application Deadline: December 14, 2018


Annual Investigator Initiated Research (IIR) Grants

IIR Grants are APSF’s primary grant program that supports research directed towards enhancing anesthesia patient safety. Potential areas of research include a wide variety of patient safety topics. Grants may be awarded up to $150,000 for a maximum period of 2 years. Grants are made out to the sponsoring institution.

See Application Instructions for eligibility and other details.

LOI will be accepted electronically beginning: January 18, 2017  (
Letter of Intent due: February 12, 2018

Those invited to submit a full proposal will be notified: June 2018
Full proposals will be due: early August 2018
Awards announced: October 2018
Projects start: January 2019

Ellison C. “Jeep” Pierce Award

In honor of APSF founder, Ellison “Jeep” Pierce, and his commitment to anesthesia patient safety, this annual prize is awarded to the highest ranked IIR grant every year. This $5000 award goes to the institution under the name of the Principal Investigator and is for unrestricted use.


Safety Scientist Career Development Award (SSCDA)

SSCDA are training grants awarded every one to two years to develop the next generation of patient safety scientists. This award is for up to $75,000 per year for a period of 2 years ($150,000 total), and includes a career development component and a mentored research project. Grants are made out to the sponsoring institution.

Dates: TBA


Periodic Request for Proposals (RFPs)

RFPs will be announced periodically to cover specific research areas as directed by the Executive Committee (EC) of the APSF.  The amount of grant award and length of grant period also determined by the EC

Dates: TBA

Grants Contact: Steven K. Howard, MD (



Ellison C. Pierce Patient Safety Award

This award is selected annually at the ASA Annual Meeting on October for the best abstract in patient safety.

Contact: Maria van Pelt, PhD, CRNA (


Trainee Quality Improvement (TQI) Recognition Program

The APSF Committee on Education and Training, under the direction of APSF leadership, announces the third annual and expanded APSF Trainee Quality Improvement Program. The 2018 program hosts tracts for resident physician anesthesiologists, student registered nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistant graduate students. APSF invites all US and Canadian anesthesia professions in training to demonstrate their program’s work in patient safety and QI initiatives. The top two projects in each tract will receive APSF recognition and financial rewards.

See Application Instructions for eligibility and other details.

Resident physician anesthesiologists is August 31, 2018 at 11:59 pm
Student Registered Nurse Anesthetists is July 15, 2018 at 11:59pm
Anesthesiologist assistant graduate students is August 31, 2018 at 11:59 pm.

Contact: Brian Cammarata, MD (


Safety Recognition Award
Best Practices for Safe Medication Administration during Anesthesia Care

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation seeks to recognize organizations that have made significant advances in safe medication administration during anesthesia care. Best practices in any of the areas of safe medication administration covered by the STPC paradigm* – Standardization, Technology, Pharmacy, Culture – will be considered for the award. Special consideration will be given to practices with well described processes that complement patient care workflow and integrate documentation with the EHR. Evidence indicating improved medication safety is most desirable but it is recognized that qualitative evidence of process improvement (eg. surveys of user acceptance) may be the best available evidence. Actual implementation experience in patient care is also required rather than projects or ideas that have yet to be implemented.

See Application Instructions for eligibility and other details.

Deadline for Submission: June 15, 2018

Contact: Jeffrey M. Feldman, MD (