The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published three times per year in Wilmington, Delaware. Individual subscription–$100, Corporate–$500. Contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. ©Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2018.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee 2018:

Mark A. Warner, President, Rochester, MN; Daniel J. Cole, MD, APSF Vice President, Los Angeles, CA; Matthew B. Weinger, Secretary, Nashville, TN; Douglas A. Bartlett, APSF Treasurer, Boulder, CO; Maria van Pelt, CRNA, PhD, Director At-Large, Boston, MA.

Newsletter Editorial Board 2018:

Steven B. Greenberg, MD, Editor-in-chief, Chicago, IL; Edward A. Bittner, MD, PhD, Associate Editor, Boston, MA; Jennifer M. Banayan, MD, Assistant Editor, Chicago, IL; Meghan Lane-Fall, MD, Assistant Editor (2018), Philadelphia, PA; Lorri Lee, MD, Richland, WA; Nikolaus Gravenstein, MD, Gainesville, FL; Joan M. Christie, MD, St. Petersberg, FL; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD, New Haven, CT; John H. Eichhorn, MD, Lexington, KY; Glenn S. Murphy, MD, Chicago, IL; Jeffrey S. Vender, MD, Winnetka, IL; Tricia A. Meyer, Pharm.D, Temple, TX; Brian Thomas, JD, Kansas City, MO; Bommy Hong Mershon, MD, Baltimore, MD; Wilson Somerville, PhD, Editorial Assistant, Winston-Salem, NC. Japanese Editorial Board Members: Hiroki Iida, MD, PhD, Gifu, Japan; Tomohiro Sawa, MD, PhD, Tokyo, Japan; Katsuyuki Miyasaka, MD, PhD, Tokyo, Japan.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Stacey Maxwell
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Charlton 1-145
Mayo Clinic
200 1st Street SW
Rochester, MN 55905
E-mail: [email protected]

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Steven B. Greenberg, MD
Editor-in-chief, APSF Newsletter
[email protected]

Edward A. Bittner, MD, PhD
Associate Editor, APSF Newsletter
[email protected]

Jennifer M. Banayan, MD
Assistant Editor, APSF Newsletter
[email protected]

Meghan Lanefall
Assistant Editor, APSF Newsletter
[email protected]

Trygve Armour
Assistant Editor, APSF Newsletter
[email protected]