Loading Events

« All Events

APSF Stoelting Conference 2018

September 5 - September 6

2018 APSF Stoelting Conference Perioperative Medication Safety: Advancing Best Practices

Mark A. Warner, M.D.
David B. Goodale, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Timothy Vanderveen, Pharm.D.

September 5-6, 2018
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Phoenix, AZ

A special thank you to our Stoelting Conference Supporters:

For more information about the benefits of sponsoring the conference, please contact Sara Moser at moser@apsf.org.


Download the 2018 Stoelting Conference Registration Form [PDF]

Please email the completed form to Stacey Maxwell at maxwell@apsf.org.

Hotel Reservation link: https://book.passkey.com/e/49547394


The APSF held a consensus conference on medication safety in 2010.  The link to the summary from the APSF Newsletter for the 2010 conference is below.


Regrettably, patients undergoing anesthesia continue to be harmed by medication errors, both intraoperatively and perioperatively. While it appears that there has been improvement in medication safety over the past two decades, the improvement has been tenuous, inconsistent, and insufficient.

The objectives of this meeting are to:

  • Understand the current extent of knowledge and gaps in understanding related to medication safety and other factors that contribute to patient harm associated with the use of medications and errors in their administration.
  • Review potential toxicities of commonly used anesthetic drugs, highlighting deficiencies/inconsistencies with currently approved FDA labeling.
  • Learn what impact periodic drug shortages may have on perioperative patient safety.
  • Discuss opportunities to reduce patient harm from perioperative medication use.
  • Craft specific recommendations that APSF and others can use to influence changes that improve perioperative medication safety and encourage the development and FDA approval of new anesthetic drugs.



6:00 – 9:00 PM
Pre-conference Reception



6:30 – 7:30 am
Full Buffet Breakfast and networking


7:30 – 8:15 am
Welcome, why are we here, and what are our expected outcomes?
Mark Warner

Introduction of 2018 APSF Safety Recognition Award Recipient: Best Practices for Safe Medication Administration During Anesthesia

Why this conference’s topic really matters
May Pian-Smith

Session 1:  How Safe Are our Most Commonly Used Anesthetics?

8:15 – 9:00 am
Sevoflurane and Desflurane: Hepatotoxicity
Dolores Njoku

Nitrous Oxide: Vitamin B12 Destruction and Myeloneuropathy
Kirk Hogan

Sulfites:  Here, there, and everywhere
Max Baker

9:00 – 9:15 am
Mid-morning break

9:15 – 10:30 am
Propofol:  Syndrome and frenzy examined
Dave Goodale

Safe and Effective Use of CO2 Absorbents
Jeff Feldman

FDA and Generic Drug Labeling Updates
Raeford Brown

Panel Discussion

10:30 – 11:00 am
Mid-morning snack break

Session 2:  Drug Shortages Affecting Patient Safety

11:00 am – 12:15 pm
Drug Shortages
Erin Fox

Patient Safety Implications of Drug Shortages
Tricia Meyer

New Anesthetics Ready for Rapid Development
Dave Goodale

Panel Discussion

12:15 – 1:00 pm

Session 3:  Reducing Medication and Administration Errors

1:00 – 2:30 pm
Estimating Patient Deaths and Harm from Medication Errors
Kevin Kavanagh

Medication Safety and Networked Surveillance in Anesthesia
Joyce Wahr

Factors Contributing to Medication Errors
Julie Boytim

Drug Concentration Standardization
Elizabeth Rebello

The ASHP Standardize-4-Safety Project
Deb Pasko

Panel Discussion

2:30 – 2:45 pm
Mid-afternoon break

2:45 – 4:15 pm
ISMP Perspectives on Standardization of Labels and Vial Colors
Ron Litman

Intravenous Medication Administration: Potential for Harm
David Jamison

Intravenous Medication Administration:  Smart Pumps and Other Approaches to Reduce the Potential for Harm
Tim Vanderveen

Panel Discussion

Session 4:  Opioid-Induced Ventilatory Impairment

4:30 – 5:00 pm
Perioperative Opioid-Induced Respiratory Depression Update
Frank Overdyk

Oxygen Monitoring:  Brain versus Finger-Tip
John Murkin

5:00 pm

6:00 – 9:00 pm
Mid-Conference Reception



6:30 – 7:30 am
Full Breakfast Buffet and networking

Session 5:  Implementation of a Comprehensive Perioperative Drug Safety Program

7:30 – 8:30 am
Evaluation and Actions: One Institution’s Story
David Bates

A Comprehensive Approach: Seattle Children’s Hospital
Eliot Grigg

Panel Discussion

8:30 – 8:45 am
Morning break

Session 6:  Specific Recommendations and Next Steps

8:45 – 10:00 am
Breakout groups

Drug Safety Group: Approaches to addressing concerns about current anesthetics?  Should we advocate for the introduction of new anesthetics? How would we do it?
Dave Goodale and Rich Prielipp

Drug Shortage Group:  Can we promote or influence actions that may decrease drug shortages or uneven distribution of perioperative medications?  How would we do it?
Steve Greenberg and Jerry Cohen

Reducing Medication and Administration Errors:  What role should we play?  Advocacy?  Support of clinical research in specific areas?  Collaborating with industry to reduce the risk of errors?
Meghan Lane-Fall and Lynn Reede

Standardization and Innovation: Should APSF advocate for medication standardization regarding drug concentrations, labelling, and administration approaches?  If yes, how should we do it?
Jeff Feldman, Tim Vanderveen, and Patty Reilly

10:00 – 10:15 am
Mid-morning snack break

10:15 – 11:30 am
Finalizing recommendations and next steps
Mark Warner, Dave Goodale, and Tim Vanderveen


September 5
September 6
Event Categories:


Royal Palms Resort and Spa
5200 E Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85018 United States
+ Google Map