Circulation 36,825 • Volume 18, No. 4 • Winter 2003   Issue PDF

Cooper Receives Eisenberg Award for Lifetime of Achievement

The National Quality Forum and the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations established the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety Award for Lifetime Achievement in May 2002, to honor the memory of Dr. John M. Eisenberg, who passed away in March 2002. Dr. Eisenberg was the highly respected leader of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, and the Eisenberg Patient Safety Lifetime Achievement award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety during their career. This year, the 2003 John M. Eisenberg Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon Dr. Jeffrey B. Cooper, the Executive Vice President of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. Dr. Cooper is one of the original founding members of the APSF and has dedicated his career to improving patient safety. Dr. Cooper is a biomedical engineer who currently holds the titles of Director, Biomedical Engineering, Partners Healthcare System, Inc.; Associate Professor of Anesthesia, Harvard Medical School; Associate Director in the Center for Integration of Medicine and Innovative Technology. He is also the Director of the Center for Medical Simulation in Boston. The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation is very proud and fortunate to have Dr. Cooper as Executive Vice President and Member of the Board of Directors and extends its congratulations for this well deserved recognition.