Circulation 94,429 • Volume 27, No. 1 • Summer-Spring 2012   Issue PDF

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) 2013 Grant Program

Funded Grant Applications (up to $150,000) scheduled to start January 1, 2013 will be announced on Saturday, October 13, 2012 at the Annual Meeting of the APSF Board of Directors (ASA Annual Meeting, Washington, DC)

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) Grant Program supports research directed toward enhancing anesthesia patient safety. Its major objective is to stimulate studies leading to prevention of mortality and morbidity resulting from anesthesia mishaps.

To recognize the patriarch of what has become a model patient safety culture in the United States and internationally, the APSF inaugurated in 2002 the Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Merit Award. The APSF Scientific Evaluation Committee will designate one of the funded proposals as the recipient of this nomination that carries with it an additional, unrestricted award of $5,000.

The APSF inaugurated
The Doctors Company Foundation Ann S. Lofsky, MD, Research Award in 2009. This award is made possible by a grant from The Doctors Company Foundation that will be awarded annually to a research project deemed worthy of the ideals and dedication exemplified by Dr. Ann S. Lofsky. The recipient of this nomination will receive an additional, unrestricted award of $5,000. It is the hope of the APSF that this award will inspire others toward her ideals and honor her memory.


APSF/American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) President’s Endowed Research Award
APSF/American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Endowed Research Award
APSF/Covidien Research Award
APSF/Masimo Foundation Research Award