Circulation 107,515 • Volume 29, No. 2 • October 2014   Issue PDF

AAMI Salutes Eight Professionals For Contributions to Health Care Technology

Each year, AAMI honors leaders, visionaries, and innovators who have made a positive difference in health care technology. The AAMI Awards Committee sifted through scores of nominations to consider who is most deserving of the honors, which are formally handed out at the Annual Conference. This year’s recipients have diverse interests and areas of expertise, but share one common value: a commitment to excellence.

Matthew B. Weinger
For more information, please read the full article: publications/AAMINews/Jun2014/ 2014_Award_Winners.html 

Matthew B. Weinger, MD A Fidelity to Science

AAMI Foundation’s Laufman-Greatbatch Award

An overwhelming number of tributes poured in for Matthew Weinger, MD, a professor and vice chair at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, TN, praising him for his tireless work in human factors to enhance the safety of medical technology. His work includes co-chairing AAMI’s Human Factors Engineering Committee and making presentations on the topic at various events.

“Dr. Weinger has made significant, singular, and global impacts on the advancement of patient safety and care through his work on human factors; medical device design and interoperability; international standards; use of simulation for training; leadership in national professional organizations; and clinical research and publications,” said Tim Vanderveen, vice president of the Center for Safety and Clinical Excellence with CareFusion.

Hospital Quality Institute president and chief executive Julie Morath, who formerly worked with Weinger at Vanderbilt, hailed him for “his fidelity to science, commitment to patient safety systems design, and research, and his passion for teaching.”

Weinger has participated in a range of AAMI activities, including presenting at the October 2012 AAMI/FDA Interoperability Summit. He also sits on the AAMI Board of Directors.