Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 20, No. 2, Circulation 75,648

Summer 2005


Thanks to all of our readers, supporters and donors for making patient safety a high priority.

In this issue:

  • Report on APSF Conference on Safety Concerns of Dessicated Carbon Dioxide Absorbents
  • HAUS Reports 3 Unique Cases of Hyperkalemic Cardiac Arrest
  • Dear SIRS Explores Descending Bellows
  • Syringe Reuse Transmits Infections
  • JCAHO Standards Have Safety Implications

Table of Contents


APSF Corporate Advisory Council
APSF Contact Information



Your Donation:

  • Funds Research Grants
  • Supports Your APSF Newsletter
  • Promotes Important Safety Initiatives
  • Facilitates Clinician-Manufacturer Interactions
  • Supports the Website

Please make checks payable to the APSF and mail donations to:

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF)
520 N. Northwest Highway
Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573

The APSF continues to accept and appreciate contributions for the E.C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Research Award.
Please make checks payable to the APSF and mail donations to:

c/o Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Research Award
520 N. Northwest Highway

Parkridge, IL 60068-2573


The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual member-ship: Individual - $100.00, Corporate - $1,000.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2005.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:
Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Regina King; Lorri A. Lee, MD ; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Denise O’Brien, BSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Keith Ruskin, MD; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, membership, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:
Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant

Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009