Volume 7, No. 4 • Winter 1992

E.S. Siker, M.D., Named APSF Executive Director

Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., M.D

E. S. (Rick) Siker, M.D. assumed the newly created position of Executive Director of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation in July and was officially welcomed at the APSF annual meeting in New Orleans October 16.

Dr. Siker completed his undergraduate education at Duke University and received his M.D. degree from New York University. Training in anesthesiology at Mercy Hospital, Pittsburgh, and a research fellowship in internal medicine at the University of Pittsburgh were followed by a year as faculty in the Department of Anaesthetics, University of Wales, Cardiff. Dr. Siker, Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at Mercy Hospital from 1962 through 1992, was the founding Secretary of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.

Dr. Siker was President of the ASA in 1973, presented ASA’s Rovenstine Lecture in 1981 and received ASA’s Distinguished Service Award in 1983. He served as Secretary-Treasurer and then President of the American Board of Anesthesiology, was the first President of the Association of Anesthesia Program Directors and chaired the Executive Committee of the World Federation of Societies of Anesthesiologists. Dr. Siker was elected to Honorary Fellowship in the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the Royal College of Surgeons of England in 1976 and of Ireland in 1988.

He has been a Visiting Professor at more than 90 Medical Schools in the United States and abroad, has presented numerous eponymous lectures, and has authored more than 80 publications. His special research interests have included narcotics, pain pathways, and anesthesia equipment. He derives great pleasure from the achievements of more than 200 anesthesiologists who received their training in his department. Most recently, his principal interests have been concerned with the many facets of patient safety. The APSF is delighted to have Rick as its Executive Director.

Dr. Pierce is APSF President.

Dr. E.S. Siker