APSF and FAER Announce the 2021 Co-Sponsored Mentored Research Training Grant

September 10, 2020

APSF and FAER LogosThe Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) and Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER), related organizations of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA), join to provide a third year of the co-sponsored APSF-FAER Mentored Research Training Grant (APSF-FAER MRTG). The APSF-FAER MRTG provides $300,000 over a two-year period to fund patient safety research directly related to the perioperative care of patients, as well as chronic pain and critical care medicine. Patient safety is defined as the avoidance, prevention, and improvement of adverse outcomes or injuries stemming from health care processes. In its first two years, the APSF and FAER awarded $600,000 to the following researchers:

  • Alexander Arriaga, MD, MPH, ScD, 2019 APSF-FAER MRTG Recipient
    Brigham and Women’s Hospital (Boston, Massachusetts)
    Increasing the Frequency of Debriefing After Perioperative Crises: Altering Trajectories that Impact Provider Burnout and Wellness
  • Timothy Gaulton, MD, MSc, 2020 APSF-FAER MRTG Recipient
    University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
    Mapping the Epidemiology of Perioperative Driving Safety and Behavior

FAER reached out to Dr. Gaulton to get his thoughts on the APSF-FAER MRTG and its significance.

“Research in patient safety is critical for the continued identification of novel risks from anesthesia,” said Dr. Gaulton. “The APSF-FAER MRTG is an amazing opportunity for me that provides the time, resources, and mentorship to allow my development into a patient safety scientist. The collaboration between APSF and FAER is critical for the ongoing growth of our field and for safety of patients and their families and I am honored to be a recipient of the award.”

Those interested in applying for the 2021 APSF-FAER MRTG will need to submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) prior to submitting a full application. The submission window for LOIs for this grant will be open from December 1, 2020 through January 1, 2021. Information on the APSF-FAER MRTG can be found on FAER’s APSF-FAER Mentored Research Training Grant page.

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research

For over 30 years, FAER has been dedicated to developing the next generation of physician-scientists in anesthesiology. Charitable contributions and support to FAER help fuel the future of anesthesiology through scientific discovery. Funding priorities include: Research, Education, and Training. FAER has awarded over $45 million in research grants and programs since 1986. To learn more about FAER, visit our website at FAER.org. To donate to FAER, visit FAER.org/donate.

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Founded in 1985, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) promotes research of perioperative patient safety issues, supports the development of careers in patient safety, provides patient safety educational materials and communications to all anesthesia providers, and advocates for changes in clinical practices that improve patient safety. The APSF’s goal is that no one shall be harmed by anesthesia care.

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) is a related organization of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. APSF provides support for research and education in perioperative patient safety. Its past initiatives have resulted in significant contributions to the field of anesthesia patient safety. APSF has distributed over $13.5 million in funding for anesthesia patient safety research projects over its 30+ year history. For more information on APSF or to donate, please visit www.apsf.org.