Between Issues

New Funding Cycle for Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Grants

March 8, 2021

Yan Xiao, PhD; Dru Riddle, PhD, DNP, CRNA

APSF 2021 Letter of Intent Submissions

During the 2021-2022 cycle the Committee for Scientific Evaluation (SEC) received 28 letters of intent (LOI) for investigator initiative research (33 LOIs in the previous cycle). Four were submitted by Harvard Medical School, with one from each of the rest 24 institutions (list below). Majority of the principal investigators (PIs) were physicians, one Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and two non-clinical.

The SEC will review the LOIs and invite those with best chance of success to submit full proposals. The SEC assigns highest funding priorities for those proposed projects that are clearly focused on anesthesia patient safety, as reflected by the APSF’s perioperative patient safety priorities. Examples of low funding priorities include projects on surgical safety in general, public health, device development, and pharmacokinetic studies. SEC typically recommends 2-4 projects for funding. More information about APSF grants and funding priorities may be found on APSF’s website.

List of organizations that submitted Letters of Intent for APSF investigator initiative research grants for the 2021-2022 cycle.

US Institutions

  • Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Children’s Research Institute
  • Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Duke University
  • Emory University School of Medicine, Emory @ Grady Memorial Health Systems
  • Harvard Medical School (4)
  • Keck Medical Center of University of Southern California
  • Montana State University
  • New York University Hospital
  • Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of California at Los Angeles
  • University of California, San Francisco
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Colorado School of Medicine
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Texas, Houston Health Science Center
  • University of Washington
  • Wake Forest University Health Sciences

Canadian Institutions

  • McGill University
  • University of Toronto
  • University Health Network


Yan Xiao, PhD and Dru Riddle, PhD, DNP, CRNA on behalf of the Scientific Evaluation Committee