©2023 Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. All rights reserved. Reprinted with permission from Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. Copying, use and distribution prohibited without the express written permission of Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.

APSF.ORG NEWSLETTER THE OFFICIAL JOURNAL OF THE ANESTHESIA PATIENT SAFETY FOUNDATION

CITATION: Xiao Y, Riddle D, Johnson RL, Maxwell S. APSF recognizes the 25 institutions that submitted letters of intent for research projects. APSF Newsletter. 2023;38:2,63.

APSF Recognizes the 25 Institutions that Submitted Letters of Intent for Research Projects

by Yan Xiao, PhD; Dru Riddle, PhD, DNP, CRNA; Rebecca L. Johnson, MD; and Stacey Maxwell

The APSF grant programs and the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) received 35 Letters of Intent from 25 institutions across the United States and Canada during the 2023–2024 funding cycle (Table 1 and Figure 1). The Investigator Initiated Research (IIR) Grant program is designed to stimulate and fund studies that will improve patient safety and lead to prevention of morbidity and mortality resulting from perioperative care. The IIR program funds up to \$150,000 for each project. The Joint APSF-FAER Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) program is to develop the next generation of perioperative patient safety scientists. The APSF-FAER MRTG program funds up to \$300,000 for each project. In the 2022–2023 funding cycle, APSF awarded two projects in the IIR Grant program "Nasotracheal Intubation with Videolaryngoscopy versus Direct Laryngoscopy in Infants (NasoVISI) Trial." led by Annery Garcia-Marcinkiewicz, MD, MSCE at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and "Electromagnetic Interference with an Underbody Dispersive Electrode

in Patients with Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillators Undergoing Surgery," led by Peter Schulman, MD, at Oregon Health & Science University). The deadlines for the 2024–2025 funding cycles may be found on the APSF website under "Grants & Awards" (Grants & Awards—Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation), along with projects funded.

Yan Xiao, PhD, is professor of nursing and engineering at University of Texas at Arlington.

2023-2024 APSF IIR and APSF FAER MRTG LOI Submissions

University of Nebraska Medical Center University Health Network.

- Toronto; University of Toronto University of California, San Francisco; San Francisco
- Veterans Affairs Medical Center The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
- Henry Ford Health System NorthShore University
- HealthSystem; University of Chicago
- Uiversity of Miami Miller School of Medicine
- Medical University of South Carolina

Table 1: Institutions that submitted letters of intent (LOIs) during 2023–2024 funding cycle.

| Institutions | Number of LOIs Received |
|--|-------------------------------|
| Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center | 2 |
| Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center | 1 |
| Duke University | 2 |
| George Washington University | 1 |
| Harvard Medical School | 1 |
| Henry Ford Health System | 1 |
| Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai | 1 |
| Johns Hopkins University | 1 |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | 3 |
| Medical University of South Carolina | 1 |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | 1 |
| Montefiore Medical Center | 1 |
| Ohio State University | 1 |

Dru Riddle, PhD, DNP, CRNA, is associate professor of nursing at Texas Christian University.

Rebecca L. Johnson, MD, is associate professor of anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

| Institutions | Number of LOIs Received |
|--|-------------------------------|
| Sinai Health System | 1 |
| University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center | 1 |
| University Health Network, Toronto | 1 |
| University of California, San Francisco | 4 |
| University of Chicago | 2 |
| University of Kansas Medical Center | 1 |
| University of Miami | 1 |
| University of Nebraska | 1 |
| University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center | 2 |
| University of Toronto | 2 |
| University of Wisconsin- Madison | 1 |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | 1 |

Stacey Maxwell is administrator of Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.

The authors have no conflicts of interest.

Duke University Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center

- Johns Hopkins University School of Medicinie
- George Washington University Medical Faculty Associates
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; Montefiore Medical Center
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Ariadne Labs / Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Harvard Medical School; Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Mass General Brigham/Harvard Medical School
 - Cincinatti Children's Hospital Medical Center; Ohio State University
 - University of Kansas Medical Center

Figure 1: Map of the submitting institutions.

