

MARK A. WARNER, M.D.

ASA/APSF Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., Patient Safety Memorial Lecture

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2015

ASA/APSF ELLISON C. PIERCE, JR., Patient safety memorial lecture:

"Expanding Our Influence: How the Perioperative Surgical Home Will Improve Patient Safety"

Robert K. Stoelting, M.D., President Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The 2015 ASA/APSF Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., Patient Safety Memorial Lecture will be delivered by Mark A. Warner, M.D. Dr. Warner has chosen for his lecture the topic "Expanding Our Influence: How the Perioperative Surgical Home Will Improve Patient Safety."

This annual honorary lecture was established by the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) and ASA to recognize and sustain the memory of the founding president of APSF and past ASA president (1984), Ellison C. (Jeep) Pierce, Jr., M.D. It was Dr. Pierce's vision and unwavering commitment to anesthesia patient safety that led to the formation of APSF in 1985 as the first medical specialty foundation devoted solely to addressing patient safety. Today, the specialty of anesthesiology, ASA and APSF are recognized as pioneers in advocating for patient safety, as APSF strives to achieve its vision that "no patient shall be harmed by anesthesia."

APSF is the largest private funding source for anesthesia patient safety research, having provided nearly \$9.5 million in support of 103 granesthesia patent safety research awards since the inception of the APSF award program in 1987. A byproduct of the APSF research award program is the development of a cadre of anesthesia safety scientists who gran trace their early investigative careers to seed money provided by APSF. The foundation was an early supporter of research directed toward the value of simulation in anesthesia patient safety. The APSF Newsletter, with a circulation of 118,032, provides rapid and international dissemination of current and evolving anesthesia patient safety information.



Robert K. Stoelting, M.D. is President of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.

Mark A. Warner, M.D., received his undergraduate degree from Miami (Ohio) University in 1976, his M.D. from the Medical College of Ohio (Toledo) in 1979, and his subsequent training in anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic. He is currently the Annenberg Professor in Anesthesiology at the Mayo Clinic and Waugh Executive Dean of the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. Dr. Warner has served as chair of the department of anesthesiology, the physician leader of Mayo hospitals, and a member of the Mayo Board of Governors.

Dr. Warner has been in the leadership of a number of national anesthesiology organizations. He is a past president of the American Board of Anesthesiology and was ASA president in 2011. He has served as an editor for *Anesthesiology* as well as an officer or member of the executive committees of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER), APSF and the Anesthesia Quality Institute (AQI). He also has been chair of the Review Committee for Anesthesiology of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

Dr. Warner's academic interests have primarily involved perioperative outcomes research. His early clinical research was supported by the APSF, and his passion for studying outcomes and improving patient safety has continued unabated. As a consequence of his interests in patient safety, his experiences in leadership of Mayo Clinic's large clinical practice and his love of the specialty, Dr. Warner has strongly encouraged an expansion of anesthesia practice to include the entire perioperative period. He has been a major proponent of the Perioperative Surgical Home concept, especially in relation to its potential for allowing anesthesiologists to have a greater impact on improving patient safety. His 2015 Pierce Lecture is dedicated to his vision for the specialty's future.

Dr. Warner and his acclaimed international contributions to advocating for anesthesia patient safety and expansion of the roles played by physician anesthesiologists within health care make him an outstanding selection to deliver the 2015 ASA/ APSF Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., Patient Safety Memorial Lecture in honor of "Jeep" Pierce. His topic, "Expanding Our Influence: How the Perioperative Surgical Home Will Improve Patient Safety," is a fitting tribute to the memory and contributions of APSF's founding president and past ASA president.

ANESTHESIA HISTORY ASSOCIATION (AHA) SEEKS NOMINATIONS FOR DAVID M. LITTLE PRIZE



DAVID M. LITTLE, JR., M.D.

Each year, the AHA awards the David M. Little Prize for the best work of anesthesia history published the previous year in English in each of three categories: book, journal article and audiovisual medium. The prize is named after Dr. David M. Little, Jr. (1920-1981), longtime Chair of Anesthesia at Hartford Hospital in Connecticut. For many years, Dr. Little wrote the "Classical File" series of history columns for the *Survey of Anesthesiology*. Awards are announced each October at the Annual Dinner Meeting of the AHA during the ASA's annual meeting.



The 2015 awards are for works published in 2014. The deadline for this year's award is **September 1, 2015** and should be sent electronically to George S. Bause, M.D. at ujyc@aol.com.