June 2015 APSF Newsletter, The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


—Featured Article—

What is Your MH IQ ?


The anesthesia community has the best understanding of Malignant Hyperthermia [MH] because it is a genetically determined illness that is most often recognized during or immediately after anesthesia with the potent inhalational agents and/or administration of succinylcholine. Moreover, a specific antidote for the MH crisis has been available since the late 1970s, dantrolene sodium. Now dantrolene and other necessary elements needed for emergency treatment of an MH episode are immediately available to anesthesia staff at most hospital and outpatient anesthetizing areas where triggering agents are employed. Death during an MH crisis has undoubtedly decreased since the entity was first identified.... [more]

Methylene Blue and the Risk of Serotonin Toxicity


by Adair Locke, MD

Methylene blue is administered intravenously by anesthesia providers for a variety of clinical uses and may be used with increasing frequency as an intraoperative urologic marker dye due to an indefinite nationwide shortage of indigo carmine. It is a potent monoamine oxidase (MAO) inhibitor, and in combination with other serotonergic agents such as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), MB can produce serotonin toxicity in the perioperative period.1,2...[more]



The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
gratefully acknowledges an educational grant from Merck & Co....[more]




The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) is pleased to invite applications for Section Editor, Patient Safety, Anesthesia & Analgesia, to begin January 1, 2016. Anesthesia & Analgesia is the official scientific journal of APSF....[more]


APSF Announces Availability of Recently Released Educational DVDs

Visit the APSF website (www.apsf.org) to view the following DVDs and request a complimentary copy....[more]



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published three times per year in Wilmington, Delaware. Individual subscription–$100, Cor­por­ate–$500. Contri­butions to the Foundation are tax deduct­ible. ©Copy­right, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2015.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Robert J. White, Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Steven K. Howard, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Maria A. van Pelt, CRNA; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Bruce P. Hallbert, PhD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Steven B. Greenberg, MD, Assistant Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; John O’Donnell, DrPH, CRNA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Senior Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009

e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com