—Featured Article—

APSF Convenes Conference on Technology Training

ADr. William Paulsen

On September 18, 2013, in Phoenix, AZ, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation convened a workshop to critically examine the importance of technology training in anesthesia. Dr. Robert Stoelting opened the conference with an introduction describing the need for anesthesia providers to be competent in their use of advanced medical equipment. Intrinsic to that competence is the assurance of training, education, and familiarity with these devices upon which we rely on a daily basis. To deny the importance of these basic tenets will most certainly result in “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results,”.... [more]

President’s Report Highlights Accomplishments of 2013


Dr. Siker

As president of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF), it is my privilege to report annually on the activities of the foundation during the past calendar year. As in my previous annual reports, I believe it is important to recognize that the APSF, as an advocacy group, does not write standards. Recommendations developed and promulgated by the APSF are intended to assist professionals who are responsible for making health care decisions...[more]





See more...


The APSF grant program is undergoing significant changes beginning with the next round of funding.

See more...

APSF Announces Availability of Recently Released Educational DVDs

Visit the APSF website (www.apsf.org) to view the following DVDs and request a complimentary copy

See more...



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published three times per year in Wilmington, Delaware. Individual subscription–$100, Cor­por­ate–$500. Contri­butions to the Foundation are tax deduct­ible. ©Copy­right, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2014.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, Robert J. White, Vice President; MD, Treasurer; Steven K. Howard, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Maria A. van Pelt, CRNA; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Mark A. Warner, MD, Steven R. Sanford, JD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: Sorin J. Brull, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Bruce P. Hallbert, PhD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; John O’Donnell, DrPH, CRNA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: [email protected]
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Senior Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009

e-mail: [email protected]