—Featured Article—

Managing Cardiovascular Implantable Electronic Devices (CIEDs) During Perioperative Care

Sample Safety Checklist Manual

Cardiovascular implantable electronic device (CIED) is a term that encompasses pacemakers for bradyarrhythmia treatment, implantable cardioverter defibrillators (ICDs) for tachyarrhythmia management, and cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) devices for systolic dysfunction with conduction delays. Cardiac arrhythmias have an estimated prevalence of 14.4 million patients in the United States, and they account for approximately 40,700 deaths annually.1 As the indications for device placement continue to expand and with data supportive of device placement compared to medical therapy well established, CIEDs are becoming common in our patient population.2,3.... [more]

A Sad Parting: Patient Safety Pioneer Ephraim (“Rick”) S. Siker, MD


Dr. Siker

APSF is saddened at the passing of Ephraim S. “Rick” Siker, MD on June 21, 2013, at the age of 87. Rick was a founding member of the APSF Executive Committee in 1985 and served as the foundation’s secretary from 1985 to 1995, executive director from 1995 to 1997, and chair, APSF Committee on Technology from 1997 to 2002 when he retired from the APSF Board of Directors after 18 years....[more]

Sample Safety Checklist Manual





Announcing Grant Awardees to be selected on Saturday, October 12, 2013 (ASA Annual Meeting) and Scheduled for Funding Starting January 1, 2014

See more...

Request for Applications (RFA) for the

Application deadline: November 1, 2013

See more...

Request for Proposals (RFP) to study the implementation and performance of the APSF Pre-anesthetic Induction Patient Safety Checklist (PIPS)

The deadline for receipt of a proposal is November 1, 2013 for a grant scheduled for funding to begin May 1, 2014.

See more...

Airline accident

The Fire Prevention Algorithm is now available as a downloadable poster or handout size:
On the APSF website (www.apsf.org) under Resource Center/Clinical Safety Tools:




The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly in Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor cost: Individual–$100, Corporate–$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible.  © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2013.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Steven R. Sanford, JD, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Steven K. Howard, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Patricia A. Kapur, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Maria Magro van Pelt, CRNA; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: Sorin J. Brull, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Bruce P. Hallbert, PhD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; John O’Donnell, DrPH, CRNA; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP, FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Senior Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009

e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com