In this issue:

Board of Directors Workshop Report: 360° Assessment of the APSF

President’s Report

Congratulations to
John H. Eichhorn, MD

APSF Awards Four Major Grants in 2011

2011 Grant Program

Scientific Papers on Patient Safety at the American Society of Anesthesiologists 2010 Annual Meeting

ASA Meeting Exhibits Highlight Patient Safety

Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Research Award for Best Scientific Exhibit

Q&A: Why Should I Learn About Fire Extinguishers?

Pictures from 25th Anniversary Meeting

Letter to the Editor:

I.V. Tape: A Potential Vector for Infection


Archives of Past Issues
Sponsorship Opportunities

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Officers, Directors, and Committees, 2011

Subscribe in a reader

—Featured Article—

Board of Directors Workshop Report:
360° Assessment of the APSF

by Robert C. Morell, MD, Lorri A. Lee, MD, and Maria A. Magro, CRNA

360degreeOn Friday, October 15, 2010, in San Diego, CA, the APSF convened a 25th anniversary Board of Directors Workshop focused on a 360° assessment of the APSF. The goal of the workshop was to help answer the question, “How do we continue to help reduce serious adverse events in the perioperative period?" The speakers were encouraged to provide a critical view of how APSF might better address patient safety issues in the future. . .[more]


Congratulations to founder of the APSF Newsletter, John Eichhorn, MD, on receiving award...[more]


Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Research Award for Best Scientific Exhibit...[more]





The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly in Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor cost: Individual–$100, Corporate–$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible.  © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2011.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Nassib G. Chamoun, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Patricia A. Kapur, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Maria Magro, CRNA, MS, MSN.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Susan R. Fossum, RN; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP, FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address:
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009