In this issue:

APSF Workshop: Cerebral Perfusion Experts Share Views on Management of Head-Up Cases

President Reviews 2009—Prepares for 2010

Five Grant Recipients Selected for 2010

Dear SIRS—Dräger Fabius Leak Test Questioned

Q&A—Cross-Contamination From Anesthesia Equipment

Scientific Papers Focus on Patient Safety at the 2009 ASA Annual Meeting

Exhibits Feature Patient Safety Strategies at ASA Meeting

AANA’s 76th Annual Meeting Highlights Education and Wellness

APSF Committee on Education and Training Awards the Ellison C. Pierce Research Award for Best Scientific Exhibit

Letters to the Editor:


This is the last issue of the APSF Newsletter
before we "go green" and transition to the new E-Newsletter.

Be sure that your professional organization (ASA, AANA, AAAA, ASATT)
has your correct email address to ensure your continued receipt of the APSF Newsletter.

The APSF will provide hardcopies of the APSF Newsletter beginning with
the Spring 2010 issue for an annual subscription of $100.

Please contact Deanna Walker at if you wish to subscribe.



Also In This Issue:

APSF Donors

APSF Officers, Directors, and Committees, 2010



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly in Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor cost: Individual–$100, Corporate–$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible.  © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2010.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Nassib G. Chamoun, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Patricia A. Kapur, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Maria Magro, CRNA, MS, MSN.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP, FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address:
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009