In this issue:

The APSF at 25

A Blast From the Past! Selected Articles in the APSF Newsletter Archives

Adverse Events Associated with Neonatal Laparoscopy:
Are They Truly Rare Events or the Tip of the Iceberg?

Successful Implementation of the New Paradigm for Medication Safety: Standardization, Technology, Pharmacy, and Culture (STPC)

Dear SIRS— Measurement of Expiratory Limb Circuit Pressure:
A Potential Anesthesia Machine Safety Issue

No More Difficult Airway, Again! Time for Consistent
Standardized Written Patient Notification of a Difficult Airway

(Lusedra®) May Be An Alternative
to Propofol for Monitored Anesthesia Care


Letters to the Editor:

Technological Intensification Revisited

Reader Questions “Triple Low” Conclusions

Depression and Medical Errors: Study in Surgeons Notes Strong Relationship

Archives of Past Issues
Sponsorship Opportunities

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Officers, Directors, and Committees, 2010

Subscribe in a reader


—Featured Article—
The APSF at 25:
Pioneering Success in Safety,
But Challenges Remain
25th Anniversary Provokes Reflection, Anticipation

by John H. Eichhorn, MD

A quarter-century after establishing “patient safety” as a specific concept and a discipline, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) pauses in the autumn of 2010 for its 25th anniversary celebration to reflect on its innovative contributions and accomplishments and also on the many challenges yet ahead.
From the start, the APSF has been driven by the vision “that no patient shall be harmed by anesthesia.” The APSF was the very first patient safety organization. While rarely recognized as the true pioneer it is, the APSF can legitimately be credited with igniting the “patient safety movement” which has (appropriately) blossomed into one of the major forces in modern health care everywhere. Every patient safety organization, committee, and program as well as every patient safety department and officer have followed after the original inspiration of the APSF. The "patient safety movement" was borne from the profession of anesthesia, where the term "patient safety" originated. The APSF was, and remains, the driving force .... [more]



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly in Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor cost: Individual–$100, Corporate–$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible.  © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2010.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Nassib G. Chamoun, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Patricia A. Kapur, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; A. William Paulsen, PhD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Maria Magro, CRNA, MS, MSN.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Co-Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Co-Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Susan R. Fossum, RN; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP, FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Co-Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com