apsf logo

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 23, No. 4, Circulation 84,122

Winter 2008-2009

Also In This Issue:


Letters to the Editor:


Recent Losses to the APSF Community

Dr. J.S. Gravenstein         

Dr J. S. "Nik" Gravenstein was a pioneer in anesthesia and patient safety. Nik served on the APSF Board of Directors and the Executive Committee from 1986 to 1995 and remained an advisor and role model for many years after.  Dr. Gravenstein was an innovator in patient simulation and a founding member and former chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Florida. Nik passed away on January 16, 2009 and will be missed by all who new him. The APSF extends its condolences to his family, friends and colleagues.



Dr. Robert J. McQuillan    

The APSF family recently lost another contributor to the cause of patient safety, Dr. Robert J. McQuillan, age 47.  Bob was an associate professor of Anesthesiology and Clinical Ethics at Creighton University and former chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at Creighton.  In addition to his anesthesia practice and extensive leadership efforts, Bob joined the APSF Committee on Education and Training in 2006, and was involved in training and research in patient safety, teamwork development (TeamSTEPPS) in the perioperative arena, and human factors. Bob is survived by his wife, Colleen M. McQuillan; daughters, Bridget and Erin; and his son, Gavin. He was a friend of APSF and an enthusiastic advocate of its vision that no patient be harmed by anesthesia.  He will be missed.  The APSF extends its condolences to Dr. McQuillan's family, friends and colleagues.


Steven B.
Greenberg, MD,
Appointed to
Editorial Board
Steven Greenberg has been practicing anesthesiology and intensive care medicine at North Shore University Healthsystems in Evanston, IL, since 2006. He serves as assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine and associate director of Surgical Critical Care at North Shore University Healthsystems in Illinois.  He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Medical School and continued his medical training at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in the field of anesthesiology. There, he served as chief resident of anesthesiology. After his residency, Dr. Greenberg completed his training at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, MA, as a critical care fellow. He is developing expertise in hemodynamic monitoring and goal directed therapy, and is presently participating in the revisions of the chapter Monitoring the Anesthetized Patient, in the upcoming 6th edition of the textbook Clinical Anesthesia. He is also lecturing both nationally and internationally on the topic of Perioperative Goal-Directed Therapy.  The APSF is pleased to welcome Dr. Greenberg to the editorial board and appreciates his contributions.

A Statement by the Executive Committee of the APSF

From time to time, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation reconfirms its commitment of working with all who devote their energies to making anesthesia as safe as humanly possible. Thus, the Foundation invites collaboration from all who administer anesthesia, all who supply the tools of anesthesia, and all who provide the settings in which anesthesia is practiced, all individuals and all organizations who, through their work, affect the safety of patients receiving anesthesia. All will find us eager to listen to their suggestions and to work with them toward the common goal of safe anesthesia for all patients.


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly in Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor cost: Individual-$100, Corporate-$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2009.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Nassib G. Chamoun, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Steven R. Sanford, JD; Mark A. Warner, MD. Consultant to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD, Patricia A. Kapur, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Associate Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Steven B. Greenberg, MD; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com