apsf logo

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 23, No. 3, Circulation 84,122

Spring 2008

ASA Annual Meeting -
October 28,2008

Check out the APSF Booth located in the Exhibit Hall at the 2008 ASA Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL

  • Meet APSF Leaders
  • Learn About Safety Initiatives
  • Make a Donation
  • Check Out the Website

Also In This Issue:

Karen Posner Named to Laura Cheney Professorship in Anesthesia Patient Safety

Dr. Karen Posner has been named to The Laura Cheney Professorship in Anesthesia Patient Safety, launched by Dr. Frederick Cheney, former chair of the department of anesthesia at the University of Washington in Seattle. This professorship is named after Dr. Cheney’s mother, a nurse who encouraged him to go into the field of medicine. The Professorship provides a cornerstone for the department's patient safety research program and will provide a permanent source of research funding for anesthesia patient safety.  Dr. Posner is honored as the first holder of this endowed position.

While Dr. Posner’s activities continue with the ASA Closed Claims Project, some endowment funds have been committed to a junior investigator starter grant within the University of Washington’s department of anesthesiology to promote patient safety research among junior faculty. Fundraising continues, with the goal of converting the professorship into an endowed chair position that would enable expansion of patient safety research activities.

A Statement by the Executive Committee of the APSF

From time to time, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation reconfirms its commitment of working with all who devote their energies to making anesthesia as safe as humanly possible. Thus, the Foundation invites collaboration from all who administer anesthesia, all who supply the tools of anesthesia, and all who provide the settings in which anesthesia is practiced, all individuals and all organizations who, through their work, affect the safety of patients receiving anesthesia. All will find us eager to listen to their suggestions and to work with them toward the common goal of safe anesthesia for all patients.

Cardinal Health Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor status: Individual-$100, Corporate-$500. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2008.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. The APSF neither writes nor promulgates standards, and the opinions expressed herein should not be construed to constitute practice standards or practice parameters. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Nassib G. Chamoun, Vice President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Matthew B. Weinger, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; David M. Gaba, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD. Consultant to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Lorri A. Lee, MD, Associate Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Denise O’Brien, MSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com