apsf logo

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 22, No. 2, Circulation 81,489

Summer 2007

In This Issue:


Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
is pleased to announce the

APSF/American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Endowed Research Award

in full support ($150,000) of a grant to be awarded in October 2007 for initiation in January 2008.

The funds for this named grant will be provided from the APSF Endowment Fund, which was made possible by the generous contributions of ASA to APSF over the last several years.

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
is pleased to announce the

ASPF Board of Directors Workshop

Training Before Using Advanced Medical Devices in the Operating Room—Voluntary or Mandatory for the Anesthesia Professional?
Friday, October 12, 2007

1300-1700 (Parc Ballroom II/III)
Parc Fifty Five Hotel, 55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA

If you are interested in attending this Workshop, please email stoelting@apsf.org to reserve your place. Space is limited and attendance will be possible only by invitation or a limited number of advanced reservations.


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor status: Individual-$100.00, Corporate-$500.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2007.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Paul A. Baumgart, Vice President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Matthew B. Weinger, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; and Ann S. Lofsky, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD ; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Denise O'Brien, MSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com