apsf logo

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 22, No. 1, Circulation 81,489

Spring 2007
President's View of the Future Newsletter Revisited Report of the Education and Technology Committee Report on Committee Technology

ASPF and A&A

The APSF is very pleased to announce our new relationship with "Anesthesia & Analgesia" (A&A).

A&A is now the Official Scientific Journal of the APSF.

Dr. Sorin J. Brull, Chair of the Scientific Evaluation Committee, has been selected Section Editor of the new Patient Safety Section of A&A.

We are grateful to Dr. Steve Shafer, Editor of A&A and the Trustees of the IARS for sharing our vision and facilitating this initiative.


Supports APSF Research
APSF gratefully acknowledges the generous contribution of $100,000 from Merck toward the funding ($150,000) of a 2008 APSF Research Grant that will be designated the APSF/Merck Research Award



The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor status: Individual-$100.00, Corporate-$500.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2007.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; Paul A. Baumgart, Vice President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Matthew B. Weinger, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD, Lorri A. Lee, MD, and Ann S. Lofsky, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD ; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Denise O'Brien, MSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com