apsf logo

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

Volume 22, No. 3, Circulation 81,489

Fall 2007

In Memorium

Arthur Keats, MD
Arthur Keats, MD

We note with sadness the passing of Dr. Arthur Keats, whose accomplishments in anesthesia very many and varied. He played an important role in the early years of APSF by being the first chair of our Scientific Evaluation Committee. He used his extensive research acumen to organize the system for soliciting and reviewing grants, based on his experience on NIH study sections. The rigor he brought to that process has remained essentially the same. His incisive thinking and quick wit made for serious, yet enjoyable discussions.

In This Issue:


APSF Booth

Be sure to visit the APSF Booh located in the exhibit hall at Moscone Center during the 2007 ASA Annual Meeting, October 13-17, 2007, in San Francisco, CA.

  • Learn About the APSF
  • Meet Leaders in Patient Safety
  • Check Out the Newsletter
  • Explore the Website

****** MAKE A DONATION ******


The Official Journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual contributor status: Individual-$100.00, Corporate-$500.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. © Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2007.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:

Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD, Executive Vice President; George A. Schapiro, Executive Vice President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun; Robert C. Morell, MD; Michael A. Olympio, MD; Richard C. Prielipp, MD; Matthew B. Weinger, MD. Consultants to the Executive Committee: John H. Eichhorn, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD; and Ann S. Lofsky, MD.

Newsletter Editorial Board:

Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin J. Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Lorri A. Lee, MD ; Rodney C. Lester, PhD, CRNA; Glenn S. Murphy, MD; Denise O'Brien, MSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Andrew F. Smith, MRCP FRCA; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, contributor, and subscription correspondence to:

Administrator, Deanna Walker
Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address: walker@apsf.org
FAX: (317) 888-1482

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:

Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail: apsfeditor@yahoo.com