Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


Volume 18, No. 2, 17-32 Circulation 36,825

Summer 2003

Table of Contents

Are You Prepared to Deal With a Patient With SARS?

• Hand Washing

• HEPA Masks

• Powered Respirators

• Extra Protection

• Intubation Preparation

The APSF continues to accept and appreciate contributions for the E.C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Research Award.

Please make checks payable to the APSF and mail donations to:

c/o Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD,
Research Award
520 N. Northwest Highway

Parkridge, IL 60068-2573

As of July 1, 2003

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922

Phone: 317-885-6610
Fax: 317-888-1482

E-mail: Office (Deanna)
E-mail: (Dr. Stoelting)

The APSF Pittsburgh office address, phone, fax, and e-mail will also be available until October 15, 2003.


Weapons of Mass Destruction Educational Task Force Now Available for Speaking Engagements

The APSF has sponsored the development of a task force on Biological, Chemical, and Nuclear Terrorism. Members of this task force include Drs. Douglas Coursin, Paul Morgan, Michael Murray, Richard Prielipp, and Mike Wall. Speaking engagements can be scheduled by calling Robin Williams at 904-296-5688 or email:

HRO San Francisco Workshop

The APSF intends to develop an initiative on High Reliability Perioperative Health Care to implement lessons from High Reliability Organization Theory (HROT). This theory describes how activities of intrinsic hazard can be carried out routinely and with high tempo if certain organizational principles are followed (see the Special Issue of APSF Newsletter, Spring 2003). On October 10, 2003, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the San Francisco Hilton, the APSF will conduct a workshop on High Reliability Perioperative Care with its Board of Directors and invited guests. The workshop will present HRO principles and utilize facilitated interactive breakout groups to explore specific issues of the APSF initiative. If you are interested in participating in this workshop, please contact the APSF at Due to the highly interactive nature of the workshop, participation is limited.

The APSF wishes to thank
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
for their continued support
of this newsletter.

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual membership: Individual - $25.00, Corporate - $500.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. ©Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2003.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Lori Cross, Vice-President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Executive Director; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun, Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; George A. Schapiro.

Newsletter Editorial Board:
Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Regina King; Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant; Denise O’Brien, BSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Keith Ruskin, MD; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Address all general, membership, and subscription correspondence to:

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
Building One, Suite Two
8007 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46217-2922
e-mail address:

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:
Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
c/o Addie Larimore

Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
e-mail address: