Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation


Volume 17, No. 4, 49-68 Circulation 36,825

Winter 2002-2003

Table of Contents

Dr. Robert Stoelting, Dr. Joan Christie, Dr. Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., and Wanda Puza staff the APSF booth at the ASA Convention.

SEA Contribution Honors

Dr. Robert Stoelting

The Society for Education in Anesthesia (SEA) recognized the lifetime educational contributions of Robert K. Stoelting, MD by naming Dr. Stoelting as the recipient of the 2002 SEA-Duke Award for Excellence and Innovation in Anesthesia Education at the SEA Annual Fall Meeting in Orlando, Florida, October 11, 2002. Dr. Stoelting also serves as the President of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF). SEA contributed the $5,000.00 award, which is part of this teaching recognition honor to the APSF. The APSF is grateful to SEA for this contribution and to Dr. Stoelting for his leadership and contributions to anesthesia education.

APSF Executive Committee Invites Collaboration

From time to time, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation reconfirms its commitment of working with all who devote their energies to making anesthesia as safe as humanly possible. Thus, the Foundation invites collaboration from all who administer anesthesia, all who supply the tools of anesthesia, and all who provide the settings in which anesthesia is practiced, all individuals and all organizations who, through their work, affect the safety of patients receiving anesthesia. All will find us eager to listen to their suggestions and to work with them toward the common goal of safe anesthesia for all patients.

Announcement of NPSF Congress

The National Patient Safety Foundation will host the 5th Annual NPSF Patient Safety Congress on March 12-15, 2003 in Washington, DC. More information can be obtained at http://www.mederrors.org. The program will include exhibits, posters, patient safety mini-courses, and plenary sessions. The goal of this NPSF Congress is to “focus on presentations from organizations and individuals that have succeeded in reducing or eliminating risks to patients and improving the safety of their care. Through this sharing of information and experiences, attendees should leave the Congress equipped with new ideas that they can apply in their organizations—thus enhancing the rate with which safety innovations are disseminated and implemented throughout the nation.”

The APSF wishes to thank AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP (www.AstraZeneca.com) for their continued support of this newsletter.


The ASA has recently announced that its revised “Sedation” videotape is now available. This tape can be ordered directly from the ASA Publications Department, 520 N. Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573. Phone 847-825-1692. The cost of the videotape and reprint is $100.

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter is the official publication of the nonprofit Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and is published quarterly at Wilmington, Delaware. Annual membership: Individual - $25.00, Corporate - $500.00. This and any additional contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible. ©Copyright, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation, 2003.

The opinions expressed in this Newsletter are not necessarily those of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation or its members or board of directors. Validity of opinions presented, drug dosages, accuracy, and completeness of content are not guaranteed by the APSF.

APSF Executive Committee:
Robert K. Stoelting, MD, President; Lori Cross, Vice-President; David M. Gaba, MD, Secretary; Casey D. Blitt, MD, Treasurer; Ellison C. Pierce, Jr., MD, Executive Director; Robert A. Caplan, MD; Nassib G. Chamoun, Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; George A. Schapiro.

Newsletter Editorial Board:
Robert C. Morell, MD, Editor; Sorin Brull, MD; Joan Christie, MD; Jan Ehrenwerth, MD; John H. Eichhorn, MD; Regina King; Denise O’Brien, BSN, RN; Karen Posner, PhD; Keith Ruskin, MD; Wilson Somerville, PhD; Jeffery Vender, MD.

Addie Larimore, Editorial Assistant.

Address all general, membership, and subscription correspondence to:

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
4246 Colonial Park Dr.
Pittsburgh, PA 15227-2621
e-mail address: apsf100@aol.com

Address Newsletter editorial comments, questions, letters, and suggestions to:
Robert C. Morell, MD
Editor, APSF Newsletter
Department of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
9th Floor CSB
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009